Digital Region Community Support Forum
Ping issues - Printable Version

+- Digital Region Community Support Forum (http://drlforum.co.uk)
+-- Forum: JDs Auto Speed Tester (/forumdisplay.php?fid=15)
+--- Forum: JDs Auto Speed Tester (/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Ping issues (/showthread.php?tid=354)



Ping issues - prichardson - 11-07-2012 09:42 PM

http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,105989.new.html#new

This thread noted some issues with some ping testing and given the speed results, and lack of other issues noted with connection problems, it's clearly something with the testing process (be it customer setup, or tester itself).

I have not installed this yet and am unlikely too (windows machine on last legs and main box is on linux).

How are the ping tests conducted and what would cause this?


RE: Ping issues - Jimmy06 - 12-07-2012 01:21 AM

(11-07-2012 09:42 PM)prichardson Wrote:  http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,105989.new.html#new

This thread noted some issues with some ping testing and given the speed results, and lack of other issues noted with connection problems, it's clearly something with the testing process (be it customer setup, or tester itself).

I have not installed this yet and am unlikely too (windows machine on last legs and main box is on linux).

How are the ping tests conducted and what would cause this?

This can run in a wine session though I am unclear if this works well or not Smile


RE: Ping issues - jackdinn - 12-07-2012 03:33 AM

yea i have read this thread and i was curious to, we have since had a donation with a message about this %50 packetloss http://www.gmwsoftware.co.uk/donate.html , i have emailed this chap who i assume is the same person.

so the code for packet loss at its most basic:-

For $pingcount = 1 To 100
Sleep($OTS_ping_delay)
Ping($OTS_Ping_loc, $pingmaxtime)
if @error=1 or @error=2 then
$packettloss += 1
....
next

I have asked on the AI forums to check that both error 1 and 2 are dropped packets and they said they were. (with some caveats ^^)
http://www.autoitscript.com/forum/topic/128599-ping-error/page__hl__+ping%20+packetloss#entry892636

EDIT:
I would do it from the console but a console command ping -n 100 takes ages ^^

actually thinking about it (and re-reading the AI forum thread) it could be a dns resolution problem, maybe i should get the IP of the url first and then just ping the IP

still, this is the only time out of all the people using jdast that i seen this particular problem , i shall see if this chap responds and what i can glean from his situation first.