Post Reply 
Migrating away from DRL
04-06-2014, 11:07 AM
Post: #1
Migrating away from DRL
I've just had a discussion with PlusNET and they tell me i can migrate my DRL FTTC service to PlusNET FTTC with minimal downtime and also keep my existing phone number, this seems to contradict what i have i seem on these forums does anyone have any experience in migrating from DRL to a BTW FTTC service and were there any issues?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2014, 12:48 PM
Post: #2
RE: Migrating away from DRL
I switched from Ask4 to Plusnet in March/April. I was actually offline for around two weeks because I had to do a cease and reprovide. The problem is that the reprovide cannot be started until after the cease has become effective. In my area and in Plusnets case the time scale from initialising the reprovide to a working connection was around 8 working days.

I too when I called Plusnet was told I could actually do a straight transfer without any downtime but after talking to them a couple of more times it transpired we had our wires crossed. They assumed I wanted to transfer to one of their ADSL packages. IF I was moving to ADSL then I could change with no downtime just using a MAC code BUT moving from Fibre to Fibre requires a cease and reprovide.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2014, 01:26 PM
Post: #3
RE: Migrating away from DRL
Unless you're not bothered about your telephone number, in which case you can go down the "new line" route.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2014, 01:30 PM
Post: #4
RE: Migrating away from DRL
(04-06-2014 01:26 PM)WillPS Wrote:  Unless you're not bothered about your telephone number, in which case you can go down the "new line" route.

Just spoke to PlusNet again and they have said that i need to make them aware im coming from DRL when i place the order it will be fine! it makes you very nervous when you get so many different answers.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2014, 04:57 PM
Post: #5
RE: Migrating away from DRL
Indeed. We have had this phone number my entire life, it would be a real ball ache to lose it.

Its why I have not moved it to VoIP as while it would be more convenient (I could screen the calls with an automated service) there are no guarantees of keeping the number if the VoIP provider goes out of business. I wish BT would offer the option to use standard SIP with your landline instead of their proprietary app, it would potentially be worth moving back to them if they did.

[Image: alexatkin.png][Image: referral-ad-120x60.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2014, 11:16 PM
Post: #6
RE: Migrating away from DRL
Got in touch with BT last week about migrating (was going to go to ADSL and then upgrade to FTTC) but their "special connections team" offered FTTC straight away and said going from (Ask4) DRL FTTC to BT FTTC wouldn't be a problem. Currently awaiting a call back for the migration date, which should have been today but we will see - I'm still not totally convinced and have done by best to explain this. Will update on what happens.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2014, 11:17 PM
Post: #7
RE: Migrating away from DRL
Sounds promising I'll look out for Your update Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2014, 06:12 AM
Post: #8
RE: Migrating away from DRL
(04-06-2014 11:16 PM)prem Wrote:  Got in touch with BT last week about migrating (was going to go to ADSL and then upgrade to FTTC) but their "special connections team" offered FTTC straight away and said going from (Ask4) DRL FTTC to BT FTTC wouldn't be a problem. Currently awaiting a call back for the migration date, which should have been today but we will see - I'm still not totally convinced and have done by best to explain this. Will update on what happens.
Did you need a Mac for this?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2014, 06:41 PM
Post: #9
RE: Migrating away from DRL
(04-06-2014 11:16 PM)prem Wrote:  Got in touch with BT last week about migrating (was going to go to ADSL and then upgrade to FTTC) but their "special connections team" offered FTTC straight away and said going from (Ask4) DRL FTTC to BT FTTC wouldn't be a problem.

Be very nice for you if that happens - it took we weeks to migrate from Ask4 to normal ADSL with BT. Now waiting for Infinity upgrade although the order that was placed for me 2 weeks ago appears to have disappeared in the system - waiting for them to get back to me.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2014, 07:26 PM (This post was last modified: 05-06-2014 07:26 PM by alexatkin.)
Post: #10
RE: Migrating away from DRL
(05-06-2014 06:41 PM)pob Wrote:  Be very nice for you if that happens - it took we weeks to migrate from Ask4 to normal ADSL with BT. Now waiting for Infinity upgrade although the order that was placed for me 2 weeks ago appears to have disappeared in the system - waiting for them to get back to me.

Ah Openreach efficiency, nice to see it hitting BTs own services for a change. Not so good for you though. Sad

[Image: alexatkin.png][Image: referral-ad-120x60.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)