Post Reply 
Higher pings?
06-04-2012, 08:37 AM
Post: #11
RE: Higher pings?
(06-04-2012 08:30 AM)Tufty Wrote:  My pings have also increased - I use Thinkbroadbands monitor and there was a noticeable change on Wednesday:

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share...-2012.html

I reported it to Ask4 on Wednesday and they originally said it was congestion - strange since I was at work at the time and no one was home. I ran some speedtests and tracerts on Wednesday night and Thursday and these are significantly higher:

I am now awaiting a response from them but it is interesting to know that others are also experiencing this problem as I thought it was just me.

It's certainly not congestion, unless they are saying their network is now congested 24/7? Smile Have you tried a multi-threaded upload test on JDAST? Just wanting to know if it's just me limited to 4.4Mb or if this is part of the issue as well.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2012, 09:09 AM
Post: #12
RE: Higher pings?
(06-04-2012 08:37 AM)gribz_uk Wrote:  
(06-04-2012 08:30 AM)Tufty Wrote:  My pings have also increased - I use Thinkbroadbands monitor and there was a noticeable change on Wednesday:

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share...-2012.html

I reported it to Ask4 on Wednesday and they originally said it was congestion - strange since I was at work at the time and no one was home. I ran some speedtests and tracerts on Wednesday night and Thursday and these are significantly higher:

I am now awaiting a response from them but it is interesting to know that others are also experiencing this problem as I thought it was just me.

It's certainly not congestion, unless they are saying their network is now congested 24/7? Smile Have you tried a multi-threaded upload test on JDAST? Just wanting to know if it's just me limited to 4.4Mb or if this is part of the issue as well.

@gribz_uk. My download hasn't actually dropped that much although it does now vary widely. I can get downloads of 24Mbps (used to be 28Mbps) but I also get as low as 6Mbps. Uploads are far worse as I now get around 2-3Mbps upload which used to be 6-7Mbps. These are all using speedtest.net (to Maidenhead). My biggest concern is the ping response and jitter. The last pingtest I did had 78ms ping response but 3ms jitter.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2012, 10:48 AM
Post: #13
RE: Higher pings?
might be an idea to say which location your from with the cabinet number and the exchange ??
not sure if anyone notice but
tufty: ac1-ppp.dr.ask4.net [81.23.59.241]
vs
mine: ac4-ppp.dr.ask4.net [81.23.59.244]
i wonder if this makes any different ?

doncaster exchange (SLDC) connect at cabinet 006
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2012, 11:20 AM
Post: #14
RE: Higher pings?
Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.241.131]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms DD-WRT [192.168.1.1]
2 68 ms 67 ms 66 ms ac2-ppp.dr.ask4.net [81.23.59.242]
3 67 ms 67 ms 67 ms br1-ac.dr.ask4.net [81.23.57.1]
4 68 ms 67 ms 71 ms dc1-xmr.dr.ask4.net [81.23.57.17]
5 69 ms 74 ms 74 ms shef-mlx.w1-dc1.core.ask4.net [81.23.51.221]
6 70 ms 72 ms 74 ms man-xmr-10ge.w1-tcw.core.ask4.net [81.23.51.254]

7 70 ms 70 ms 70 ms siemens.edge-ix.net [212.121.34.68]
8 77 ms 76 ms 76 ms ge3-0-368.rt0.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.17]
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 77 ms 77 ms 77 ms ae1.er01.rbsov.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.46]
11 77 ms 77 ms 76 ms 132.185.255.134
12 77 ms 76 ms 76 ms 212.58.241.131

Here is my output from tracert. I'm not as technical as some of you guys but I can clearly see that my 2nd hop address is right alongside Tufty's and aceado's.

My local exchange is Wadsley Bridge if that helps at all?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2012, 11:54 AM
Post: #15
RE: Higher pings?
I am actually an Origin customer but also work on connections with Ask4.

I have noticed the increased ping times and slow download speeds on all DRL connections. It must be a problem with the DRL network if you ask me as everyone seems affected.

I am connected to the Sharrow exchange but my DRL service is from Intake exchange.

Matthew
Forum Administrator
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2012, 12:58 PM
Post: #16
RE: Higher pings?
I think with the more people coming onto DR (mainly businesses), I think we will see increasing ping times being honest.

Regards
Spencer Davies
Administrator
[Image: 3552242034.png][Image: 3740977595.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2012, 02:44 PM
Post: #17
RE: Higher pings?
How do you find out which cabinet you are connected to? My exchange is Sharrow.

I can appreciate the increased pings may be due to additional customers (which would be a good thing) but not convinced that a first hop of 60+ ms is technically a good thing. What would be an expected ping on a 25Mbps connection be? Last year I used to get 18ms.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2012, 03:56 PM
Post: #18
RE: Higher pings?
@Tufty

Welcome to the forums!

Origin has a good checker which shows the PCP number you are connected to
http://www.origin-broadband.co.uk/availability/

Regards
Spencer Davies
Administrator
[Image: 3552242034.png][Image: 3740977595.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2012, 04:14 PM
Post: #19
RE: Higher pings?
(06-04-2012 03:56 PM)SpencerUk Wrote:  @Tufty

Welcome to the forums!

Origin has a good checker which shows the PCP number you are connected to
http://www.origin-broadband.co.uk/availability/

@SpencerUk Thanks. Based on that I am either SHA018 or SHA042 but I've never had speeds over 30Mbps! 28Mbp is the 'norm'.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2012, 04:26 PM
Post: #20
RE: Higher pings?
I don’t think it’s down to the increase in customer take up of DRL to be honest. All of the ISP’s have different routing, transit providers and levels of interconnects so pings would vary between ISP anyway. The increase would be a gradual rise where as it appears this has happened all of a sudden. If you think BT, Virgin Media, Sky etc all have thousands of customers on both ADSL & VDSL circuits and there pings are a lot lower than my current 70ms ping times!

Matthew
Forum Administrator
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)