Post Reply 
Higher pings?
08-04-2012, 03:02 PM
Post: #31
RE: Higher pings?
Are you folks still having problems with upload speed too? Mine has been about 40% less than normal for the past few days. I presume this is connected with the ongoing saga.

I tried pinging bbc.co.uk earlier and got a record time of 625ms.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-04-2012, 06:47 PM
Post: #32
RE: Higher pings?
I had a really good go at the NOC to get mine sorted. They messed with some settings on my line when I moved over to Ask4 and capped my upstream at 2mb.

Ping wise I'm cruising at 176ms at the minute lol.

Regards
Spencer Davies
Administrator
[Image: 3552242034.png][Image: 3740977595.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-04-2012, 08:26 PM
Post: #33
RE: Higher pings?
(07-04-2012 10:19 PM)mattyatty1 Wrote:  @eric.honecker welcome to the forum and thanks for joining in!

Whilst some people aren’t experiencing problems, at present majority of customers connected to DRL network irrespective of ISP are. It is likely to be something on certain cabinets (DSLAM’s) that has been changed causing a network issue and increasing latency times, the NOC are aware and working to resolve the problem.

I have am connected to Sharrow for my telephone service whilst my DRL connection fibre roots back to the Intake exchange, I have every faith in Origin that working with the NOC they will resolve this issue as quickly as possible. Who is your ISP out of interest and what speeds/ping times do you normally experience?

thhx matty, yeh im with a4 nd usually get a good 30ish down, pings were around 60ish b4, glad to say its al gud now.

@SPencer, ah cudworth exchange to eh, nice parta the region. did you have to shout at em to sort it then? I have changed my over the wknd as I got in touch through a friend of a friend and they were really good about it, take bak my mixed thoughts after them giving a really great run thru of the problem and being really helpful.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-04-2012, 09:25 PM
Post: #34
RE: Higher pings?
I'm near the police station (Newland Av).

Well, Thales/NOC wasn't supposed to mess about migrating lines over from then RiPWiRE to ASK4 but they did and then they denied it. They just annoy you at times.

Regards
Spencer Davies
Administrator
[Image: 3552242034.png][Image: 3740977595.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-04-2012, 03:37 PM
Post: #35
RE: Higher pings?
(08-04-2012 09:25 PM)SpencerUk Wrote:  I'm near the police station (Newland Av).

Well, Thales/NOC wasn't supposed to mess about migrating lines over from then RiPWiRE to ASK4 but they did and then they denied it. They just annoy you at times.

im over on silverstone av so must be a diff cab from u. arnt u more happy to be on a4? reading on other posts they have more redundancy than rw nd are a proper isp nd not a startup.

I red a few of ur other posts mate and u sound like u really dont like em in the noc or do u feel its a bit of rivalry with u working on a helpdesk?

well im pleased to report that my connection is all gud still, how is every1 else gettin on?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-04-2012, 03:51 PM
Post: #36
RE: Higher pings?
am not sure if its me or does the connection seems to here and there at times (slow and then back to normal even if its few a min or 2)
i tried to load up http://www.paypal.com and it was really slow to the point i was waiting 30 secs for it to load up Confused
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-04-2012, 06:11 PM
Post: #37
RE: Higher pings?
Raised a ticket with Ask4 about this before the weekend. They advised some changes had been made to my profile with DRL, got back today and cycled the Cellpipe and router. Upload is bit better (by 1Mb) but download is now even slower and the ping times are the same.

I did tell the support guy it wasn't just me affected but that doesn't seem to have been taken into account yet. I've asked them to escalate the problem further; however if this is a known issue (from what Origin Twitter and @SpencerUK have said) then why is this not being fixed urgently? And why are Ask4 so quiet on here now? Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-04-2012, 07:09 PM
Post: #38
RE: Higher pings?
(09-04-2012 06:11 PM)gribz_uk Wrote:  Raised a ticket with Ask4 about this before the weekend. They advised some changes had been made to my profile with DRL, got back today and cycled the Cellpipe and router. Upload is bit better (by 1Mb) but download is now even slower and the ping times are the same.

I did tell the support guy it wasn't just me affected but that doesn't seem to have been taken into account yet. I've asked them to escalate the problem further; however if this is a known issue (from what Origin Twitter and @SpencerUK have said) then why is this not being fixed urgently? And why are Ask4 so quiet on here now? Smile

Hi @gribz_uk

It does appear that there have been some changes to a number of customer’s profiles on the DRL network and therefore as you say this is why many are reporting increased latency and slower speeds than usual.

The issue has been escalated to the NOC but with it been a bank holiday weekend there are only basic engineers on site and authority has to be given from someone senior before a vast amount of user’s profiles can be changed.

At this stage power cycling is probably not likely to resolve the issue but hopefully this matter will be dealt with as a matter of priority tomorrow morning when higher members of staff return to the NOC following the weekend who can then work on resolving the issue.

I guess Ask4 are most likely quiet on here due to the fact we are feeding updates on the situation as best we can and again staff may not have the forum credentials to post updates but as long as you know there aware and it’s in hand hopefully there next post will be telling us it’s resolved!

Matthew
Forum Administrator
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-04-2012, 07:53 PM (This post was last modified: 09-04-2012 08:00 PM by SpencerUk.)
Post: #39
RE: Higher pings?
@eric.honecker

From looking at Google Maps, I'm 100% you're on a different cab from me as were almost opposite ends of the village.

I'm actually no longer on Ask4. I'm currently on a trial product with Digital Region and don't really report to an ISP so to speak.

Ask4 is certainly a more established company than RiPWiRE. As you have stated, the latter was a very small company where as Ask4 have been around for a while and having been growing in userbase for some time. If you don't know, the specialist area for them is Ethernet to the flat aimed for students.

I have no beef with the NOC or any ISP on the network and I don't really think there's any rivalry so to speak. I can get wound up with the NOC/Thales provisioning, but that's because of my knowledge within the telecommunications industry and how they do things.

@aceado

Kineda is taking about 30 seconds for me and its about 10 seconds on my other BT Infinity line.

Can I just say, there are some beautiful women on that site (Click at your own risk)...There's other stuff too of course Tongue

Not having any issues with PayPal

@gribz_uk

I like to think the NOC/Thales Provision as the Internet tax man..They take, but give nothing back Wink

Why is Ask4 quiet?...Good question, I can only assume is because they don't class this as an official support channel and only certain users will know the login details.

Regards
Spencer Davies
Administrator
[Image: 3552242034.png][Image: 3740977595.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-04-2012, 09:22 PM
Post: #40
RE: Higher pings?
Not sure if anyone noticed this already.

https://twitter.com/#!/OriginBroadband/s...0670399488

Tuesday is Origin's ETA on the fix. Origin have been great in keeping us in the loop.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)