Post Reply 
Google Music Manager
26-09-2014, 10:18 PM
Post: #1
Google Music Manager
This application is really p$ss$ng me off

had 2 tracks to download so told it to download them, next thing it wants to re-download another 25GB of music it has already previously downloaded.

I'm not keen on Apple but at least their software allows you transfer what you want out of your library

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
26-09-2014, 11:28 PM
Post: #2
RE: Google Music Manager
I'm having trouble with Google Music Manager too but for the other way around, i.e. Uploading. I've set it to automatically upload but after the initial upload, it refuses to acknowledge that I've added anything else. I've restarted the app, restarted the machine, nothing!

I don't dare remove the app and re-install because I know for a fact the database is local to the app and therefore it tries to upload everything from. Scratch again and Google Music doesn't handle duplicates.

ISP: Plusnet | Router: Mikrotik 2011UAS-2HnD-IN | Sync: 50Mbit/15Mbit | PCP: 600m | Exchange: Mosborough
Server: HP Microserver, Aspire V5-171
PC: MacBook Pro, ThinkPad X220
OD: Plex, Chromecast, Roku 2 XS, NowTV, YouView, PS4
Mobile: iPad, LG G3, Nexus 5


[Image: 1uq3DB4][Image: 1jo9ZvL]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
27-09-2014, 12:12 AM
Post: #3
RE: Google Music Manager
Agree it can't handle duplicates at all - what makes it worse as well is that the app when saves music can only do upto maximum 32 chars - so long track names and albums are truncated

also google constantly make changes to meta data on the track name

If you reinstall app it also wants to upload all your music again

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
27-09-2014, 10:10 AM
Post: #4
RE: Google Music Manager
well I let it run last night to see what happened and it downloaded all the tracks again - just checked and it stated it had 1 track to re-download but when done that it wanted to download them all again

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
27-09-2014, 12:04 PM
Post: #5
RE: Google Music Manager
I've not re-downloaded any tracks from Google Play directly yet and don't really intend to either.

My beef is with Play Music app on iOS..it doesn't cache played songs like it does on android so its a data monger!

Regards
Spencer Davies
Administrator
[Image: 3552242034.png][Image: 3740977595.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
27-09-2014, 02:32 PM
Post: #6
RE: Google Music Manager
I download them so can then transfer to my plex server for playing in any device without streaming from net

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
28-10-2014, 03:37 PM
Post: #7
RE: Google Music Manager
old post, but finally received an answer from Google

Quote:I understand how frustrating this issue can be but unfortunately the Google Play Music Manager will always re-download the entire content of your library. I'm not sure why it's designed like this but it's working as intended.

So the software which is supposed to manage your music, can't actually perform the correct job and constantly wants to re-download all your music, thus wasting bandwidth for the end-user

In other words don't use it as it's not fit for purpose

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)