Post Reply 
BT v Sky v Plusnet
15-11-2014, 04:37 PM
Post: #1
BT v Sky v Plusnet
Well, my current deals are due to end with BT and on ringing them they can't offer me anything better to stay with them - only deal they could offer was same as I'm on but for only 1 month as they putting the prices up

So deciding whether or not to move to another provider for everything

Looking at the deals and PN have some good ones and works out cheaper than BT plus can use own router

Sky still looking into this but their Fibre package is more expensive and you need to use their own router (anyone tried using a non-sky router on sky)

So anyone have any issues with either Sky or PN - did have PN years ago before Fibre and had no major issues with them - not sure if would need brand new account as still got my old F9 email address

Have Sky TV and no problems with it, but never had their phone line or internet service

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
15-11-2014, 11:28 PM
Post: #2
RE: BT v Sky v Plusnet
I have just finished a year with Plusnet, and was with Sky for the year or so before that - on ADSL for both (no fibre in Sheffield). I'm extremely disloyal when it comes to utilities and services, so chop and change things the whole time pretty much.

Service with Sky was always fairly good - through within a couple of minutes and always UK-based CS. Landline died completely towards the end of my time with them - nothing to do with them, of course. I happened to be working through the night that night and the line went just before their CS opened at 0700 - their portal to Openreach was down though, so I was supposed to wait for a callback the next day. I pre-empted that by calling in the afternoon hoping this would get Openreach out quicker. All very friendly - only problem I had was that I was offered a callback after the booked engineer visit and I didn't get that. A callback and a letter with a copy of my mobile phone bill and I was suitably compensated.

Plusnet sent a completely DoA router, and I was on the phone for a good 40 minutes trying to get through to somebody. I understand they've opened a new call centre in Leeds since and indeed a call today to clarify my final bill got through in seconds. All UK based, very friendly.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
16-11-2014, 11:58 PM
Post: #3
RE: BT v Sky v Plusnet
I've had no probelms with Plusnet and as I've demonstrated before I'm a really heavy user!

ISP: Plusnet | Router: Mikrotik 2011UAS-2HnD-IN | Sync: 50Mbit/15Mbit | PCP: 600m | Exchange: Mosborough
Server: HP Microserver, Aspire V5-171
PC: MacBook Pro, ThinkPad X220
OD: Plex, Chromecast, Roku 2 XS, NowTV, YouView, PS4
Mobile: iPad, LG G3, Nexus 5


[Image: 1uq3DB4][Image: 1jo9ZvL]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
17-11-2014, 06:43 PM (This post was last modified: 17-11-2014 06:44 PM by john22rob.)
Post: #4
RE: BT v Sky v Plusnet
I'm with sky, currently on 10/1 as there is no fibre in my area. I was with Plusnet prior to digital Region and most I got with them was around 6/0.5. Overall I am very pleased with sky. The sky hub is stable and one of the better modem/routers that I've been given by an ISP and yes you can use your own modem/router.

They managed to get me online 3days after DR closed, my mum went Plusnet and was down for weeks.

On the other hand my mum has a far better connection and speeds on fibre 30/10 that I did on DR origin 70/20

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
17-11-2014, 08:44 PM
Post: #5
RE: BT v Sky v Plusnet
Looking at the pricing if I go fully with PlusNet (move line as well) then can get it all for £45 a month compared to BT's £55 a month - this all includes line rental - I can also use my own router so no need to purchase one from PlusNet or pay for the delivery fees.

Sky not sure what deal I could get with them but they say they will switch Fibre over first and then my main line - Fibre by itself is £30 a month which is more than BT's offering. @john22rob how easy is it to use own router with Sky - do they provide you with the necessary details and can you still use a modded HG612

My network combines the Archer C7 with 2 x TL-WR710N as AP's and works well - I've also got it fully configured so can easily disable the kids internet when needed

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
17-11-2014, 11:13 PM
Post: #6
RE: BT v Sky v Plusnet
Sky don't give you the log in details, you have to extract them from your router (which is sent pre-setup with them). Officially you can't use anything but their equipment.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19-11-2014, 07:22 PM
Post: #7
RE: BT v Sky v Plusnet
Interesting, BT rang me a couple of days ago as my contract period is due to expire. Knocked me £7 a month off my price to sign a further contract. I am delighted with my Infinity 2 connection so had no intention of leaving anyway .... Win win if you ask me ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19-11-2014, 07:28 PM (This post was last modified: 19-11-2014 08:15 PM by mirdragon.)
Post: #8
RE: BT v Sky v Plusnet
I rang BT as I'm in my last month and they said they can only offer me the same as I'm on now and it would go up in December so no better.

The only service we don't get is TV from them - even the calling package is cheaper with PlusNet as they have the mobile bit for anytime calls separate so no need to pay if don't want to use it, while BT force you to pay for that bit if you want anytime calls

It seems with Sky you can't order the Fibre Pro, so have to downgrade to 40mb if I wished to migrate. Sad Sad

@bobpullen - I spoke to BT who insist that PlusNet are unable to provide Infinity 2 speeds and can only do upto 40Mbps - they are stating that PlusNet do high traffic shaping on their connections, especially for uploads and that there is also a £50 connection fee.

Attached is an screenshot of what order I was interested in, but there is no connection fee is this correct?

   

They are also stating not every provider will want the mac code (I know Virgin wouldn't, but I thought any using BT would) and that it's 7 working days to provide this (I understood it was 5 working days)

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19-11-2014, 08:09 PM
Post: #9
RE: BT v Sky v Plusnet
£140 cash back on quidco at the moment for top plusnet package. Got mine paid about 6 weeks from placing order. Recommended.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19-11-2014, 08:20 PM
Post: #10
RE: BT v Sky v Plusnet
did you go for the line rental as well?

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)