Post Reply 
Power Supply Query
15-05-2015, 07:23 PM
Post: #1
Power Supply Query
Anyone good with power calculations that can advise on what the power outage (wattage) would be for this power adaptor

Input: 100-240V - 50/60Hz 1.6a

Output: 12V 5.0A

thanks

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
16-05-2015, 11:30 PM
Post: #2
RE: Power Supply Query
I'm not going to answer as I know you got that on Sheffield Forum.

But I am going to ask if the board you have this PSU for is to replace your Archer C7? Have you started getting bottle necked by it somehow?

I know mine on OpenWRT uses a LOT of CPU when doing iperf tests over 802.11ac, so I'm glad I don't use it as my router. I think WiFi just uses too many interrupts that its less than ideal to have it built-in to your router.

[Image: alexatkin.png][Image: referral-ad-120x60.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
17-05-2015, 01:37 PM
Post: #3
RE: Power Supply Query
yeh, was loosing connection to the Archer C7 on regular basis through the gui interface, but still allowed access to the internet. When this happened it meant I couldn't enable/disable rule sets for kid (ie if naughty disable internet for an hour) - I had rules set up so it would disable their connection at night till in the morning (otherwise wouldn't go to bed/sleep) - when the interface messed up it also messed up the rules and couldn't do anything unless rebooted the device - so you never knew if it was affecting anything else on the system. tpl-link weren't that helpful saying you must reboot the unit every couple of weeks as it kills the gui interface if using too much memory - told them it's a poor implementation if it does that.

I've got smoothwall all back up and running again (not used it since was with ripwire) using the new kit - I could have saved some cash if I didn't get the small case and ssd for it, but where it was going it had to be quiet

the board is a good unit, smoothwall is not fully compatible with it (doesn't like usb 3.0 and can't use built-in wifi), but for the bit I need it works fine - did have couple of setup issues but now looking good

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
18-05-2015, 12:17 AM
Post: #4
RE: Power Supply Query
Its actually really interesting to compare, as that board should run rings around mine but apparently there are other considerations.

One example being the Atom has AES acceleration and an Intel ethernet controller (to which I added the second), so in some use cases (presumably OpenSSL, OpenVPN, etc) comes out on top. Although the build of OpenWRT I am running on it doesn't have AES support compiled in, so good job I don't run anything on there that would particularly need it.

The biggest plus for me and one reason I chose it was it taking DC input directly, as it avoids the question of "is the DC to DC converter any good", it becomes purely down to your PSU.

Unfortunately the person who did this build of OpenWRT no longer has time to work on it, and none of the stock builds will boot on this thing. Sad So I'm a bit stuck.

The reason I favoured OpenWRT is it could boot from a USB stick and loads everything into RAM like on a consumer router. It also meant I could take the existing configuration across more easily.

[Image: alexatkin.png][Image: referral-ad-120x60.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
18-05-2015, 08:13 PM (This post was last modified: 18-05-2015 08:56 PM by mirdragon.)
Post: #5
RE: Power Supply Query
you can do the same with smoothwall and pfsense, use them as embedded systems

it running fine at the moment, but still debating on whether to stick with smoothwall (base on previous experience with it) or use pfsense (friends highly recommend this)

The only issue with smoothwall is that it does not support the USB 3 ports so was awkward to get installed (a lot of messing about) and it does not work with wifi cards (if had one installed), while pfsense works with both (but I won't be adding wifi to it).

This means with smoothwall I can't currently backup the configuration to restore from if something goes wrong, I'm going to see how it performs this week and possibly test pfsense next week while missus away

Am also debating on keeping the case or sending it back (mainly due to the power side of it) and getting something different (possibly an antec case - Antec ISK300-150 or Antec ISK 110 VESA 2.5)

Or put it in a Cooler Master Elite 120 Advance (which I remember I have) which has got a 500W PSU Big Grin

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
18-05-2015, 11:33 PM (This post was last modified: 18-05-2015 11:39 PM by alexatkin.)
Post: #6
RE: Power Supply Query
My main PC is in an Elite 120 Advanced, its the only way to go if you need a good choice of PSU manufacturer. You also could double it up as a NAS then too as it seems that board should have CPU power to spare unless you end up on a 500Mbit+ service somehow. Wink

My server used to use a PicoPSU 160 with an FSP 150W AC adapter (supposedly highly recommended) and the AC adapter went pop after under two years of running 24/7 with only around 65W load. Ironically, I actually was able to run it off a no brand eBay 60W adapter for a short while which ran quite hot but still works today for something within its wattage specs.

I moved on to a BeQuiet! 300W SFX PSU (the case came with a cheapo 200W that sounded like leaving the vacuum running) for my server recently and guess what I found out, that is ALSO manufactured by FSP. Sad Although hopefully it will last longer due to being actively cooled.

So yeah, ATX PSUs are the way to go if you are concerned about quality I think, plenty of choice and far more reviews and teardowns. The catch of course, is that your build can run completely silent and with a more enclosed case you might need to find a decent low RPM silent fan, the Cooler Master supplied ones are not.

[Image: alexatkin.png][Image: referral-ad-120x60.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19-05-2015, 07:03 PM
Post: #7
RE: Power Supply Query
finally swapped it over and decided to dvd drive in as well, incase decide to install pfsense and then switch back to smoothy

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
24-05-2015, 11:27 PM (This post was last modified: 24-05-2015 11:28 PM by alexatkin.)
Post: #8
RE: Power Supply Query
I wouldn't include a DVD drive personally, at least not if its a full sized one.

I removed the BD-ROM drive from my PC when I found it consumed almost 10W more power, just because it was in there idle.

[Image: alexatkin.png][Image: referral-ad-120x60.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
26-05-2015, 02:06 PM
Post: #9
RE: Power Supply Query
I could easily leave it in and just disconnect the power to it Tongue

Just smoothwall is fussy about installing from a usb stick

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-06-2015, 04:09 AM
Post: #10
RE: Power Supply Query
I'm thinking I might try pfSense myself actually, see if it does everything I want. I just don't feel comfortable with my increasingly out-of-date build of OpenWRT and I would like to get it running full 64bit to see if performance is any different.

Ordered a cheap 32GB mSATA SSD that probably won't work in the mSATA slots on the board (apparently the compatibility is awful on this board for that) but can use a mSATA to SATA converter.

[Image: alexatkin.png][Image: referral-ad-120x60.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)