Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
Just got Ripwire Digital Region
17-11-2011, 03:24 PM
Well I finally got it on Tuesday. Had some issues on the way though. Well mostly that it took Open reach 40 days before they decided I required my line changing over, so I suppose this isnt an issue with Ripwire?
The other issue with my connection was that the DSL light was on but for the life of me I couldnt get the damn internet to dial up... Now I work in IT networking so i know some stuff like so I knew I was doing nothing wrong. Put a ticket in at 6pm and got a call at 6:30, so that was good! Unfortunately thinking that it would be ages before I got anything from them I had gone out shopping in a mood. So anyway they rang back at 7:30 when I was in, we went through all of the setup several times and tried a few things. Nothing worked. The router and computer both just timed out on trying to connect. Eventually he realised that he had no Email confirming the connection which he found strange considering it all looked right from both of our ends. So he rang Digital region (I guess) and they said that they needed 20 mins to finish it all off. So he rang back after 20 mins and we tried again, still nothing. So he rang Digital region again and they said to try now. Turned all the kit off and back on and WOO HOO it worked. So I guess thats a lesson for us all.
In 3 days I have had one drop out (that I know of) on the same day we connected which I suppose as the line levels off or whatever will be normal. Last test I did on the PC returned 24ms to London with 35 down and 1 up. 35 Down im fairly happy with but 1 up im not sure is right. Im hoping that it will get better as the line gets sorted?

ISP: Ask4 DR Speed: 39.5Mbit /9.90Mbit Ping: 16ms to bbc.co.uk Line Length: ~400m
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
26-11-2011, 09:56 PM
Hi TheGr33k,

Glad to hear you joined up with RiPWiRE.