Post Reply 
Speedtest.net Speedwave
19-04-2012, 09:24 PM (This post was last modified: 20-04-2012 05:15 PM by ash45.)
Post: #1
Speedtest.net Speedwave
Hi ive created a speedwave just for customers of the DRN Check it out here run a test and lets see what people are getting Smile

PS i recommend the namesco London server so far that's given me the best results

Ash

[Image: 4173472130.png][Image: 8115047.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19-04-2012, 10:55 PM
Post: #2
RE: Speedtest.net Speedwave
Well looks like my Speedtest results are still broken with Origin. That's me with 3.5 down and 4.5 up Sad Anyone else getting this?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19-04-2012, 11:33 PM
Post: #3
RE: Speedtest.net Speedwave
(19-04-2012 10:55 PM)TTM13 Wrote:  Well looks like my Speedtest results are still broken with Origin. That's me with 3.5 down and 4.5 up Sad Anyone else getting this?

On certain servers mines the same you know wont go past 5/5 then on others shows more less full downloading always maxes but speedtests can be iffy as sin

Ash

[Image: 4173472130.png][Image: 8115047.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19-04-2012, 11:35 PM
Post: #4
RE: Speedtest.net Speedwave
If you using speedest.net it is broken and give poor ratings tonight. I ran a test and got less than 12mb down but BT, Virgin and BBMax report normal speeds

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19-04-2012, 11:37 PM (This post was last modified: 19-04-2012 11:44 PM by ash45.)
Post: #5
RE: Speedtest.net Speedwave
(19-04-2012 11:35 PM)mirdragon Wrote:  If you using speedest.net it is broken and give poor ratings tonight. I ran a test and got less than 12mb down but BT, Virgin and BBMax report normal speeds

yes i notice BBmax gives good results

The London namsco servers quite good on speedtest.net gives me good results

Ash

[Image: 4173472130.png][Image: 8115047.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
20-04-2012, 12:18 AM (This post was last modified: 20-04-2012 12:23 AM by ThEGr33k.)
Post: #6
RE: Speedtest.net Speedwave
OK, so some odd stuff going on for me!

1st. Im apparently in Doncaster!? Nope, Barnsley!
2nd. IE gets 55ms ping to leeds, Chrome 110ms!?
3rd. Phone on Wifi uploads at 9.5Mb, Computer wired does 6Mb!?

WTF!?

Result was 37 and 6 I think in the end...

ISP: Ask4 DR Speed: 39.5Mbit /9.90Mbit Ping: 16ms to bbc.co.uk Line Length: ~400m
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
20-04-2012, 12:20 AM
Post: #7
RE: Speedtest.net Speedwave
(20-04-2012 12:18 AM)ThEGr33k Wrote:  OK, so some odd stuff going on for me!

1st. Im apparently in Doncaster!? Nope, Barnsley!
2nd. IE gets 55ms ping to leeds, Chrome 110ms!?
3rd. Phone on Wifi uploads at 9.5MB, Computer wired does 6MB!?

WTF!?

Result was 37 and 6 I think in the end...

lol im in Barnsley too my pings all over the place at mo lol see here

Ash

[Image: 4173472130.png][Image: 8115047.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
20-04-2012, 12:51 AM (This post was last modified: 20-04-2012 12:55 AM by ThEGr33k.)
Post: #8
RE: Speedtest.net Speedwave
OK think speedtest is a bit meh...

http://www.ookla.com/demo-custom.php

Did that test and Peaked at 39.55down and 7.5up atm... with 40ms pings though all the results are all over the place!?

DR or one or all of the ISP needs to have some speed test so we can tell where the hold up is!

ISP: Ask4 DR Speed: 39.5Mbit /9.90Mbit Ping: 16ms to bbc.co.uk Line Length: ~400m
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
20-04-2012, 12:55 AM
Post: #9
RE: Speedtest.net Speedwave
(20-04-2012 12:51 AM)ThEGr33k Wrote:  OK think speedtest is a bit meh...

http://www.ookla.com/demo-custom.php

Did that test and Peaked at 39.55down and 7.5up atm... with 40ms pings though all the results are all over the place!?

DR or Ask 4 needs to have some speed test so we can tell where the hold up is!

TBH im not impressed with the pings my adsl got lower pings than this when i was on VM i used to get a 15ping give or take and VM are known for having crap pings lol i was expecting 15-20 with it been FTTC

Ash

[Image: 4173472130.png][Image: 8115047.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
20-04-2012, 01:47 AM
Post: #10
RE: Speedtest.net Speedwave
If there is one complaint I have about Digital Region its the pings. Clearly Thales have been a little paranoid about the line settings as people on Infinity are getting much lower pings than us.

That said, 40ms should not be that big a deal.

Incidentally the problem with VM was not that their pings were high, its that they fluctuate wildly. So when they are good, they are 15ms, but when they are bad you will be getting 15, 130, 50, basically a TON of jitter.

When it comes to latency, its better to have permanently high latency than to have jitter. Because jitter can make gaming feel like having an epileptic fit with it going smooth, judder, smooth, judder.

[Image: alexatkin.png][Image: referral-ad-120x60.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)