Post Reply 
The Star - has your business been affected?
21-08-2014, 12:30 PM
Post: #1
The Star - has your business been affected?
Hello, I'm David Walsh, business editor at The Star newspaper in Sheffield.

I'm writing about how Origin business customers are getting on for an article seven days (tomorrow) after the cut off.

Are you back online?
How did you do it?
How has your business been affected?
What support have you had from Origin?

Please contact me on 0114 252 1307

Thanks and regards
David
@TheStarBiz
david.walsh@thestar.co.uk
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
21-08-2014, 01:37 PM
Post: #2
RE: The Star - has your business been affected?
Hi David,

Welcome to the forum! I've made this thread a sticky so that people can find it easitly. I enjoyed reading your articles yesterday and will look forward to reading this when it goes to press. Apparently there's also something in today's edition?

I'm sure you'll have some members here interested in passing along their stories. In the meantime, there's plenty of threads with examples of people having issues.

ISP: Plusnet | Router: Mikrotik 2011UAS-2HnD-IN | Sync: 50Mbit/15Mbit | PCP: 600m | Exchange: Mosborough
Server: HP Microserver, Aspire V5-171
PC: MacBook Pro, ThinkPad X220
OD: Plex, Chromecast, Roku 2 XS, NowTV, YouView, PS4
Mobile: iPad, LG G3, Nexus 5


[Image: 1uq3DB4][Image: 1jo9ZvL]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
21-08-2014, 02:18 PM
Post: #3
RE: The Star - has your business been affected?
Hi, yes. I put this in:

http://www.thestar.co.uk/news/business/s...-1-6796527

More tomorrow, on companies affected.

Regards
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
21-08-2014, 02:26 PM
Post: #4
RE: The Star - has your business been affected?
@TheStarBiz - http://www.v-graphics.co.uk/ - these guys have been caught out.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
21-08-2014, 02:32 PM
Post: #5
RE: The Star - has your business been affected?
Thanks, I spoke to the boss earlier.

Turmoil is what he described.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
21-08-2014, 03:02 PM (This post was last modified: 21-08-2014 03:04 PM by alexatkin.)
Post: #6
RE: The Star - has your business been affected?
Quote:A BT spokesman said: “Openreach continues to work closely with Thales and Origin Broadband around the MAC process to ensure minimal disruption to customers who are migrating from Origin’s network. We have already processed hundreds of cease orders to enable customers to switch.

That would seem to conflict with everything we think we know.

How can Thales be doing anything when their contract ended, the NOC is closed.
How can Origin be working with BT to obtain MACs when that was up to Thales and again, the NOC is closed.
Are we missing something here?

[Image: alexatkin.png][Image: referral-ad-120x60.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
21-08-2014, 03:04 PM
Post: #7
RE: The Star - has your business been affected?
Given that it's from BT it'll probably have come from a spin doctor who doesn't understand the situation.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
21-08-2014, 03:14 PM
Post: #8
RE: The Star - has your business been affected?
" . . the MAC process . . " can always be loosely interpreted to mean the migration process - not necessarily the use of a Migration Authorisation Code to assist said migration

Barrie_____________________________________
Dreaming the Life rather than Living the Dream Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
21-08-2014, 03:57 PM (This post was last modified: 21-08-2014 03:59 PM by alexatkin.)
Post: #9
RE: The Star - has your business been affected?
(21-08-2014 03:14 PM)essenby Wrote:  " . . the MAC process . . " can always be loosely interpreted to mean the migration process - not necessarily the use of a Migration Authorisation Code to assist said migration

You didn't read the article, it specifically mentions Origin working with BT and Thales to get special MAC codes.

Its a small article, I didn't think it appropriate to copy/paste the whole thing.

[Image: alexatkin.png][Image: referral-ad-120x60.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
21-08-2014, 06:45 PM
Post: #10
RE: The Star - has your business been affected?
@alexatkin

Well we don't know how exactly they are requesting MACs..It could be Thales have just forwarded the last CRF forms to Origin to give to the customer. It could be that codes are passed to Origin to generate the MACS themselves, who knows.

Meanwhile, it would appear @Hippojay has an cease order on his line

Regards
Spencer Davies
Administrator
[Image: 3552242034.png][Image: 3740977595.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)