Post Reply 
So far Ask4 connection worse than Ripwire
04-04-2012, 01:18 PM
Post: #31
RE: So far Ask4 connection worse than Ripwire
Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.241.131]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms my.router [192.168.1.1]
2 57 ms 56 ms 57 ms ac1-ppp.dr.ask4.net [81.23.59.241]
3 57 ms 57 ms 57 ms br1-ac.dr.ask4.net [81.23.57.1]
4 57 ms 57 ms 57 ms dc1-xmr.dr.ask4.net [81.23.57.17]

Seriously... What the hell is wrong with DR... No wonder its falling on its arse when they are this shoddy!

ISP: Ask4 DR Speed: 39.5Mbit /9.90Mbit Ping: 16ms to bbc.co.uk Line Length: ~400m
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-04-2012, 01:22 PM
Post: #32
RE: So far Ask4 connection worse than Ripwire
Code:
Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.241.131]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  node1.myhomedns.co.uk [192.168.2.1]
  2     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  lns13.the.dsl.enta.net [188.39.0.10]
  3     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  gi1-3.the.dist.dsl.enta.net [188.39.0.9]
  4     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  te2-2.telehouse-east3.dsl.enta.net [78.33.141.81]
  5     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  te5-2.telehouse-east.core.enta.net [62.249.192.121]
  6     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  bbc-gw0-linx.prt0.thdoe.bbc.co.uk [195.66.224.103]
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8    11 ms    13 ms    16 ms  ae1.er01.rbsov.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.46]
  9     9 ms     9 ms    14 ms  132.185.255.134
10     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  212.58.241.131

Trace complete.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2012, 08:05 PM
Post: #33
RE: So far Ask4 connection worse than Ripwire
(04-04-2012 01:22 PM)Jimmy06 Wrote:  
Code:
Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.241.131]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  node1.myhomedns.co.uk [192.168.2.1]
  2     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  lns13.the.dsl.enta.net [188.39.0.10]
  3     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  gi1-3.the.dist.dsl.enta.net [188.39.0.9]
  4     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  te2-2.telehouse-east3.dsl.enta.net [78.33.141.81]
  5     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  te5-2.telehouse-east.core.enta.net [62.249.192.121]
  6     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  bbc-gw0-linx.prt0.thdoe.bbc.co.uk [195.66.224.103]
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8    11 ms    13 ms    16 ms  ae1.er01.rbsov.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.46]
  9     9 ms     9 ms    14 ms  132.185.255.134
10     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  212.58.241.131

Trace complete.

@Jimmy06 - is that on an Ask4 network? The networks differ wildly from mine. What type of connection do you have, what speeds do you normally have?

I would be happy with an 8ms response! Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2012, 08:07 PM (This post was last modified: 06-04-2012 09:01 PM by Jimmy06.)
Post: #34
RE: So far Ask4 connection worse than Ripwire
(06-04-2012 08:05 PM)Tufty Wrote:  
(04-04-2012 01:22 PM)Jimmy06 Wrote:  
Code:
Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.241.131]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  node1.myhomedns.co.uk [192.168.2.1]
  2     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  lns13.the.dsl.enta.net [188.39.0.10]
  3     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  gi1-3.the.dist.dsl.enta.net [188.39.0.9]
  4     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  te2-2.telehouse-east3.dsl.enta.net [78.33.141.81]
  5     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  te5-2.telehouse-east.core.enta.net [62.249.192.121]
  6     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  bbc-gw0-linx.prt0.thdoe.bbc.co.uk [195.66.224.103]
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8    11 ms    13 ms    16 ms  ae1.er01.rbsov.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.46]
  9     9 ms     9 ms    14 ms  132.185.255.134
10     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  212.58.241.131

Trace complete.

@Jimmy06 - is that on an Ask4 network? The networks differ wildly from mine. What type of connection do you have, what speeds do you normally have?

I would be happy with an 8ms response! Big Grin

@Tufty

Im affraid not thats my Rural ADSL2+ connection on a company called Aquiss Smile
[Image: JDAST_Graph_2012_04_06_20_07_49.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-04-2012, 11:42 AM (This post was last modified: 07-04-2012 11:44 AM by mirdragon.)
Post: #35
RE: So far Ask4 connection worse than Ripwire
Just quick post as away at mo

there has always been an issue with latency on the digital region network in my opinion and im not sure why.

Thales really need to look into why they have this problem especially when they dont have many users on the network.

Its not the isps fault as this was highlighted to the noc by ripwire back last year so they are aware of the issue but seem to be dragging their heels in resolving it

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-04-2012, 01:06 AM
Post: #36
RE: So far Ask4 connection worse than Ripwire
Why is it beginning to sound like Thales managed to put Ripwire out of business?

ISP: Ask4 DR Speed: 39.5Mbit /9.90Mbit Ping: 16ms to bbc.co.uk Line Length: ~400m
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-04-2012, 01:20 PM
Post: #37
RE: So far Ask4 connection worse than Ripwire
(11-04-2012 01:06 AM)ThEGr33k Wrote:  Why is it beginning to sound like Thales managed to put Ripwire out of business?

if you read some of the reports, especially on the bbc website and ispreview it says the following

Quote:RiPWiRE, based in Rotherham said it had experienced a range of issues with Digital Region.

Ispreview Information

BBC Information

In my opinion they can't pass all the blame onto Digital Region, as they are much to blame as anybody else - even when i was a customer with them they were blaming Digital Region for issues, but then they admitted that they weren't actually reporting some issues customers were experiencing to Digital Region.

They also made a lot of false promises and it was because of their attitude towards customers that i left them. if it wasn't for the charges at the time to move providers on the network i would have probably stayed, if i knew the constant disconnections would have ceased.

I'm not sure how true it is, but on some reports they reckon that Ripwire only had about 250 clients. To probably make money they would have to be charging customers £75 or more a month for their services just to about keep afloat.

So I don't think it was Thales/Digital Region that put Ripwire out of business, as if it was then why aren't the others in the same situation......

Mirdragon
Forum Moderator

ISP: BT|Modem:HG612 (Modded)|Router: Smoothwall|Sync: 68Mbit/18Mbit
Network: HP Procurve|4 x TP-Link AP
Mobile: Nexus 4+6|Tab 3 8"|Asus VivoTab+Transformer TF101
Media Services: SkyHD|Xbox One|ChromeBox (OpenElec)|Samsung BDH6500|Youview|Netflix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-04-2012, 03:51 PM
Post: #38
RE: So far Ask4 connection worse than Ripwire
I agree with @mirdragon on this.

As much as Digital Region has been plagued with problems, internally faults wise and expose externally, the running of RiPWiRE was very...erm...different Big Grin

I can't comment on false promises and things like that, but when you have such a small customer base and charging so little for business packages, it was hard to see where a profit would come through.

Saying that, there were plenty of good things to say about RiPWiRE. Back on the old forums (legacy members will know!), RiPWiRE support was on there and started to become active before the end of things and in the background I was in good communication with the higher ups. They were also the first company to take a gamble on Digital Region..Without them showing up, Residential customers would not have got on the network as early as they did!.

Regards
Spencer Davies
Administrator
[Image: 3552242034.png][Image: 3740977595.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)